Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

It’s not about Jesus

I wrote something to an acquittance of mine, Anna L Davis, in response to a post she wrote and it got me thinking.  I thought about the degree to which being part of a church is not about Jesus.  Anna spoke of a group of former prostitutes who know try to lead other prostitutes to Jesus.  For whatever reason (My morals, of course, intrinsically compromised by my atheism) I don’t like prostitution and I think it is good for women to be lead out of it by people who have been there, regardless of motivation.   She mentioned how she would like to see more of this sort of thing.

I don’t think she will.  Christianity is dying in the west, at rate of about 1% per year.  Do you know what the fastest growing religion is? Wicca. The number of people who identify as Wiccans is doubling every 30 months. (Ref)  So, I offer to concerned Christians everywhere my little guide book to how to keep your church from going the way of the brontosaurus.  You can get Wiccans and other Neopagans (people who believe a fairly arbitrary re-imagining of neolithic and bronze age paganism, only without the blood sacrifice.) to go your church and stay there.

Its profoundly simple, actually.  White suburban does not equal Christian.  Tell me which picture is a group of Christians….

I like how the photo of the Christian teens (it’s taken from the Youth for Christ web page) uses careful lens flash to make the token black guy the whitest one there.   So tell, me what exactly have the goths done wrong here?  They are dressed as modestly as the Christians.  There is no more hair dye, and no more make up on the right then on the left.  You can’t see any skin really, no naughty words, no pentagrams.

But you know, don’t you?  You know instantly they aren’t Christians because they don’t look white bread enough.  Wicca takes these people with open arms.  Wicca says “Your uniqueness is blessed”.  The Christians say, through a tyranny of frowns and subtle digs, that these people aren’t right, no matter how much they love Jesus.  I know someone is reading this and saying “Oh NO! Not I! I would love these people into Christianity. How long could person come to your church dressed like this before someone felt the need to say something to them?  If Christianity wants to exist in another 50 years, then it needs to stop acting like being a Christian means having a Christian image, and needs to start acting like the inside is more important then the image….

Or be content with young people leaving droves from the  hypocrisy.

P.S. If you got this far without ever realizing that only God can see the heart and the group on the left could be Satan worshipers and the group on the right could be local Baptist teen group then you don’t need me to tell you what the problem is.

December 9, 2009 - Posted by | atheism, Christianity, Government, Religion, Self discovery, skepticism, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I think it’s awesome that you took the time to wright a whole article about something you don’t believe in. Be blessed.
    P.S. God loves you, and it’s all about Jesus(especially this season)! ;)

    Comment by Annka | December 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. I know its confusing that I write about something I don’t believe in. But 96% of the US population does. It’s important to talk about what so many people believe even I don’t. Thanks for commenting, though if God loves me he has deeply ironic sense of humor.

    Comment by truthwalker | December 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. Of course He has a deeply ironic sense of humor. What you have stated above is why I like the church I currently attend. The pastor says it’s the church for the misfit toys. That’s a reference to Rudolf the red nose reindeer movie when he and the misfit elf discover the island of misfit toys that nobody likes or wants. You are right without change the Christian church will die out. Here’s to change!

    Comment by CC | December 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. God tends to speak to me with an ironic sense of humor.=P

    This is my Gods love! And it’s the love He has for you as well! ;) Blessings!

    Comment by Annka | December 9, 2009 | Reply

  5. I love this post. Partially because you mentioned me (lol) but also because I wholeheartedly agree that the heart matters infinitely more than appearances and we get that dreadfully wrong. Something many people don’t know about me is that before I became a Christian I was dabbling with Wicca, gang activity, and satanism– in that order. But I dressed and looked like any other good suburban kid. Had I gone to church I would have fit right in.

    Comment by annaldavis | December 12, 2009 | Reply

  6. You know what I love? When posts about religion draws out the crazy religious people. They can’t help but make asses of themselves.

    The christian attitude towards “non-christian image” is why most of the pagans I know became pagan. They didn’t feel like they should have to change everything they are in order for God to love them. They take the phrase “only God may judge me” to new levels.

    Comment by amarisgrey | February 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

