Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Salt, tea, and a wee bairn

I leave here soon, so I said good bye to the ocean today. I sat in a pile of salt grass and watched the waves meet the land in foamy enthusiasm. At first all I had was moon light, but slowly the sun came up and everything came into focus. I watched the fishing fleet head out, and the paths fill with joggers as the rest of the city woke up.
I drove home, salty mist still on my lips, and made my self a cub of herbal tea. One of the radio stations is having feminist content day. (No joke.) So I listened to a song called “Girls Night Out” which was about a bunch of happy go lucky witches as I drove. (Now theres something in short supply.) I remembered as I walked in the door that I had promised Wife that I would tidy up the kitchen so I began to do so before she got up. Meanwhile at in my neighbors half it sounded like there was a furniture moving contest approaching crescendo. I was just thinking about asking them if everything was all right when the doorbell rang.
My neighbor, looking very concerned and preoccupied handed my is eldest born and saying
“Imsorryitsoearlycouldwatchmysonforafewthanksbye!”And did a two step sprint into his half. So me and my cute as bug neighbor played marry had a little lamb on the toy piano until about 15 min later when his very relaxed but somewhat worn down mother knocked on the door and politely took him back saying “Thanks” and departed. It just proves my theory: at any given time, I have no idea what is going on.

December 16, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Well, if it makes you feel any better, I, at any given moment, also have no idea what’s going on. I honestly don’t know how we make it through a day much less the last five years.

    Comment by Becky | December 16, 2006 | Reply

  2. And if you knew what was going on at all times, your head would explode. At times, the cliche is corerct: ignorance is bliss. It is probably a very good thing that you did not know what was going on. You might have tried to help.

    Comment by James T | December 16, 2006 | Reply

  3. Wow! What a surreal couple of hours. At two in the morning when I am up feeding the baby I can hear little children running around in the condo next to us. What are they doing up at that hour?

    Comment by CC | December 17, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

