Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Sorry

I’ve so much to say, and I darest not. But this I must say, because it pushes me almost to breaking.

I was ordered to write a request for an award in the required style. I do not believe in self promotion, but I believe in following the orders that I took an oath to follow. I wrote the request and I followed the template perfectly. But, refusing to be part of the game, I took it completely over the top. I used words to describe myself and my actions that no sane person would use. I will give you only one, shameful example “paragon of virtue”. Yes, I really said that.

I knew that by using such preposterous verbiage my request would be seen as the pure pap that it was.

Unfortunately, my superiors definition of good writing is writing that contains words that you must look up in a dictionary.

I am now “a good writer”. I won an award for my dedication and hard work. My name is on a plaque by the door. If there is a hard worker somewhere out there, I’m sorry. I’m so sorry.

In all my life, I have never been so humiliated by any abuse as I have been by these compliments. I joined to be proud of who I am. Tonight I feel only shame.

May 10, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Lesson learned, eh? Never assume anything. That’s what I say! Remember: big words impress small people. I think dad said that.

    Comment by CC | May 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. One more thing, I want you to post the preposterous petition!

    Comment by CC | May 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. I second that. I think anything with “paragon of virtue” in its text IS good writing. At least in the tongue-in-cheek way that you intended. (Kudos to you. Job well done.)

    Comment by Jen F | May 16, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

