Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

I hate my new bike

I made a bike today. I hate it. Its heavy and slow. Its geometry is wrong. Its saddle is wrong. It has no fenders. I can’t adjust the no-name “indexed” derailer. Yes I said derailer. On the beautiful Trek commuter I’d bought it was a dérailleur. Now, on the Wal Mart POS that I am ridding its just a derailer.
I hate everything about Wal-Mar t bikes. I hate how they ruin people for biking. I think 90% of of the reason that most adults won’t ride a bike to work is they think back to the squeaking, life sucking, butt-pounding Huffy they had and don’t ever ever want to do that again.
I used to ride for therapy. Riding that piece of crap Huffy was what I did to keep the crazy down low. If you grow up in a small Midwestern town and you don’t fornicate or smoke dope you don’t have very many good ways to destress. I rode my Huffy. I stared getting serious about it.
I started ridding 30 miles a day, 5 days a week.
Then one day, I rode a real bike. It was like flying. It was everything that I had always wanted ridding a bike to be. The miles flew by. My legs didn’t hurt. My butt didn’t hurt. When I leaned into turns it felt like I was one with the machine.
I never rode my Huffy again. Broke at college I bought a Walmart bike. I think I used it twice. Somehow it made one of the top 10 best feeling is life a chore, something you endured, to get where you wanted to go twice as fast as walking, but it wasn’t magic.
When I joined the Air Force, I finally had the money to buy the bike I wanted. I got a Trek 7500 with 700c rims, Bontrager tires, suspension seat post, nice saddle, and good components. Over the months I added a LED headlight, LED blinkie, a cargo rack, and 2 panniers . Now, its been stolen. I have the money, I could just go buy a nicer bike than I used to have. But I just can’t right now, so I will have to limp this 40# pile of Walmart crap around until I don’t need the money for other things. *sigh*

December 18, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. You’ll fly again some day.

    Comment by Becky | December 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. Did you know I paid more for my first real bike then I did for my first car. That’s what you get married to my cycling husband. Well we weren’t actually married at the time, but you know what I mean. Sorry about your bike. Next time…keep it in the house. By the way in Germany they LOVE cyclists.

    Comment by CC | December 19, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

