Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

The difference between men and women.

Once upon a time, Sunday morning was a hectic time for me.  It was a time to get shaved, get dressed, hurry through breakfast, and get to church.   Becky and I gave up on going to a church building Sunday mornings about a year ago.  We still fellowship with people we love, which of course was the point of the commandment, but that is a blog for another time.  The point here is that Sunday morning is a delightful time of lolling in bed, munching toast, and taking the time to really talk to each other.

If there is a better feeling than lying around indolently on a big, puffy quilt with the most beautiful wife in the world, I can’t imagine what it is.  We talked about how things would have been different if only we had met sooner.  We’ve been married for 6 years now.  One of my only regrets about our marriage is we had to wait so long to meet, fall in love, and marry.  If we could have met at 15, we could have gotten married at 16, and then, we would now have been together for 11 years.  Since the last 6 years have been the best in my life, the idea of having another 5 on top of that is very attractive to me.

We’ve talked about this before, but today I said something that hadn’t previously crossed my mind, or at least I hadn’t spoken it to her.  My wife, you see, is quite curvy.  I mentioned to her that when  I thought of her at 16, I thought of how much fun her uniquely curvy 16 year old self would be in bed.  And she said…

“Really?  When I think about being in bed with you at 16, I mostly think of you not knowing what the hell you were doing.”

That, ladies and gentleman, is the difference between men and women.

June 22, 2008 - Posted by | Self discovery, Slice of life, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Way to make me laugh!

    Comment by Heather | June 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. Joe and I were talking about something similar the other day about how we were glad we met each other when we did otherwise we would more than likely never have gotten together. I think I would love to say I have been with Joe for as long as I possibly could but the person I am today and the person I was at 16 are not even close to remotely the same. I had to laugh at Becky’s reply because I can see Joe saying something like that.

    Comment by Anna | June 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

