Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Thoughts on the election

Pretend a man walks up to you on the street.  He holds up a bat.

“I’m going to brake your left kneecap or your right kneecap. Which do you want me to hit with the bat?”

“Neither,” you reply. “I don’t want you to hit either of my kneecaps.”

“Well, too bad,” he says. “You have to chose which kneecap I’m going to hit.”

“But I don’t want you to break either of my kneecaps!” you yelp.

“Look,” he explains, “I have to break one of your kneecaps.  There’s nothing you can do about that, but I am trying to be nice and let you choose which kneecap you want broken.”

“It’s going to be horribly painful!” you yell.

“Well, yes, but it can be slightly less painful emotionally because of the choice, you know,” he replies.  “I’m giving you a choice here, you don’t have any right to complain.”

“I DO TO HAVE A RIGHT TO COMPLAIN! YOU’RE GOING TO BREAK MY KNEECAP!”

He clucks his tongue and cracks you across the nearest kneecap.  It shatters instantly, and you fall on the ground writhing in pain and screaming.

He shakes his head as he walks away. “I just can’t abide people who refuse to vote and then complain about the results,” he says to himself as he walks away, bat in hand.

September 5, 2008 - Posted by | Government, Politics, Religion | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I think that’s a bad analogy. For serious. 🙂

    Comment by kyriakonie | September 6, 2008 | Reply

  2. I can remember a conversation very similar to this one not long ago. It’s just as funny (and true) now as it was then.

    Comment by amarisgrey | September 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

