Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

My solution

So I think the lesson I’ve learned is that you can’t escape materialism.  We live in a singular nation in a singular age.  My wife and I have wealth that was unimaginable only a few generations ago.  For us, in this nation and this time, the question is not If I will eat, but what.  We are people of leisure.

Further we buy everything. Everyone does. Even when we save, we are saving to someday buy something.  And the money we get to buy all these things is the money we get in exchange for our hours of work. Those hours, once gone, are gone forever.  We trade the hours of our life for the things we buy.

In short, the things we buy show what we trade our life for.  So has it always been as long as there has been some semblance of civilization.  We will trade the work of our lives for the work of others peoples’.  That’s life, and its a good thing.

In my desire to not worship what I owned, to not be a materialist, I just owned things I didn’t like.  I have an apartment full of crap that I don’t like.  There is no intrinsic virtue in suffering, only suffering for that which is virtuous.  Somehow I got confused on that and thought that by being indifferent to everything I owned that I was  being moral.

So it all goes.  I  will, of course, by new things.  But the real way to fight materialism to have a few things that bring you joy rather a dearth of things which bring you nothing.

September 16, 2008 - Posted by | Self discovery, Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I think you are right. The solution to rampant materialism isn’t to have crappy stuff you hate, nor to have tons of stuff you are mild amused by, but to have a few things that bring you joy and happiness. Things that you are proud of and bring a smile to your face when you use them. I like it and I look forward to implementing this new outlook with you.

    Comment by ladyrebecca | September 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. This is profound! And you two are awesome!

    Comment by Lottie | September 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

