Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

The Humble Damned

One of the most difficult things I have found in the transition from Christian to deist is my loss of my surety.  As I often do, I’m going to beef about the kind of Christian I was.  This doesn’t mean all Christians are like this.  It’s just what it looked like to me when I was there.

When I was a Christian, I was so sure, so certain. Let me give you a list of the things I knew better than the people in charge of them

(1.) Global Foreign Policy: We needed to stop being the policeman of the world and fix our own problems.

(2.) Welfare: We need to stop paying people not to work

(3.) Penal system: We need the death penalty, harsher prisons and harsher sentencing.

(4.) Drugs: Drug dealers are the most evil people on earth.

(5.) Budget: we should balance the budget like a checkbook. The Government doesn’t need debt.

(6.) Immigration: We should turn back the Mexican immigrants by force.

(7.) Science: Scientists are really not that smart.  Once a person believes in evolution, they’ll believe anything.  They are therefore also wrong about: the hole in the ozone, man made climate change, spanking’s effect on a child’s psyche, and saturated fat.

This is just a sampling of the things I believed.  In retrospect, I am amazed by my ignorance.  Since the Bible was authored by God, it could not be argued with.  I had read and studied the ultimate source of human knowledge, thus I was privy to divine secrets that other folks were not.

I am just staggered by my audacity.  The last three years or so, I have remained as passionate about the issues of welfare reform, government, and economic policy as I always was.  I read maybe 10 or 15 books a year on each these subjects.  And I still don’t have many answers.

I am at the point of education when one finally knows enough to merely phrase the questions.

Back in the day, it would never even occurred to me to that maybe, just maybe, people who have dedicated their lives to understanding the best way to design, say a modern government budget, might know just a smidgen more than I do about the job.

When I was a Christian, I shot my mouth of about subjects I didn’t understand. I did so because I truly believed I did understand. After all, didn’t I know what the Bible said about it?  Now, if an opinion is important me, I establish it very carefully after months of studying peer reviewed documents, and their source documents.

Humility is…”the defining characteristic of an unpretentious and modest person.”  Humility, like most components of character is not revealed in what one says, but what one does.  Isn’t it more humble to spend months in careful study reading many authors conclusions, and checking their source documents than to assume that you were correct about what book God wrote and quoting it wherever applicable?

Proverbs 11:2 “When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.”  So, aren’t I more blessed with wisdom as deist then I was as Christian, since I am more humble?

September 30, 2008 - Posted by | Government, Politics, Religion, skepticism, Uncategorized | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I was like that too. I had an answer for everything because I had spent 30 years studying the ultimate source of information (Bible) and “listening to” the ultimate dictator (God). It was actually something of a relief to finally realized that I wasn’t as smart as I thought I was.

    Good post!

    Comment by Lottie | October 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

