Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

I am atheist, and I’m not sorry.

So, after much thought and deliberation, I get a little further along with my atheism. I am a skeptic, which means I believe in evidence.  I strive to be a good skeptic which means I can reverse course pretty quickly if evidence is presented.  Occam’s Razor is dependent on good data, so when I can have one opinion with data X and then change my opinion in the face of data X + Y.

Originally, I was a fundamentalist Christian.  This means that I chose which things in the Bible to believe very un-systematically.  Believing that it was wrong to own slaves, or sell your kids, but perfectly acceptable to beat children or stone homosexuals.  I realized how un-systematic my beliefs were and…

Then I was an Evangelical Christian.  This means that I chose which things in the Bible to believe somewhat more systematically, focused on the character of God as revealed by New Testament, rather than the old.  But I realized that you can’t develop the character God without the Old Testament, or what did Christ’s sacrifice mean?  Also, I realized I was as choosy about what I followed in the New Testament as I had been with the Old.  There was a lot in the second chapter of Acts that I wasn’t doing, and…

Then I was Charismatic.  That means I believed the stuff God said about healing and the church sharing everything in common.  But then I realized that the Charismatic rhetoric was much more revolutionary than anything the mainstream church was doing, and…

Then I became a radical charismatic.  That means I believed in the Kingdom Mandate. Read Das Kapital and substitute “capitalist” for “mainstream church” and “capital” for “power and presence of God”.  Then read Lenin’s Что делать? and substitute “house church” for “vanguard of the revolution” and “mega church” for “trade unionists” and you’ll have a pretty good idea of what a radical charismatic is.  Taking the Bible seriously got weirder  and sicker.  Following the commands of God took care for the poor and such took a real backseat to pseudo-revolutionary rhetoric and…

Then I became a Theist.  I still believed in God. I believed He was real and demanded action. But I couldn’t find Him.  Logical demand and….

Then I became a Deist.  That means I believed the divine is real, but I am not really sure how it works.

And now I am fully an atheist.  That doesn’t mean God doesn’t exist. It means I won’t believe he exists till I see proof.  My proof?  A single, documented healing of a amputee who prayed for healing.  I’d been loathe to just take that stance, both on my blog and real life, because saying you are an atheist means a lot of people are going to argue with you.  It also means I have to truly accept a lot of things, rather than just intellectually ascent to their likelihood.

I am now, in person and on my blog, an unapologetic atheist. (Before I was a very apologetic deist.)

November 4, 2008 - Posted by | Religion, skepticism, Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Yus! We have recruited one more. The plan is working perfectly. Now, with the election of Barack Obama, our execution of world conquest is almost complete.

    (See, the sad part is, I know someone is going to read this comment and think I’m serious.)

    Comment by amarisgrey | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. Amaris:
    It’s all part of the Evil Atheist Conspiracy, and now you’ve let the cat out of the bag.

    . 😆

    Truthwalker:
    I’ll catch up reading here sometime over the weekend. Mike’s been in from England which is why I haven’t been online very much. Just wanted to drop a quick note to let you know.

    Comment by Lottie | November 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

