Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Mom and Dad, I’m very sorry.

Dear Mom and Dad,

I thought I’d put my last post to you guys behind me.  Well, one more.  I’m sorry.  I ended up saying a lot of things that didn’t need to be said.  Their is a fine line between being honest and being an ass.  I, quite obviously, crossed it, and I’m sorry.

When I told you I was an atheist, what I expected was that you would call.  You would seek out what this meant, but thats not what you did.  It got me thinking about specific times that I’ve wanted you to really take an interest in specific parts of my life, and for whatever reason you didn’t or couldn’t.  And the more I thought about it the more it ached, and lashed out at you on my blog.

I’d wanted to show you and world that I valid reasons for de-converting, some based in my emotional experience, some based in reason.  The purpose of those posts was show my pain, that I had been hurt by Christianity.  But I was so mad when I wrote them,  I whipped you for all hurt I ever received from every Christian that I could not sit down with and say “I’m a person, and you didn’t have a right to treat my like that.” I think you guys were just really insecure, and it came out in a lot of ways, some big, some little.

Above all, I wanted say I’m sorry for saying that you were no better than foster parents.  You really did love me, I know that.  I was a wreck when I wrote that, screaming at you you out of 16 years of repressed rage at the church.  It’s probably the cruelest thing a child could possibly say to a parent.  I should have never said that. I can’t take it back, but I’m incredibly sorry.

March 3, 2009 - Posted by | atheism, Christianity, Religion, Self discovery, skepticism, Slice of life | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. My Son… thank you and thank you for telling me last night on the phone and of course your apology is accepted. We didn’t call because the last time we had really engaged, face to face, here in the yard as you guys took off for Missippi it got all out of hand and we weren’t really certain what happened. We are fallen creatures in an imperfect world and we all make mistakes. Part of unconditional love is looking at the person and even if you don’t approve of their choices loving who they are.

    Love, Dad

    Comment by Dad | March 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. Not to take anything away from this apology and forgiveness…but Mr. W, this is a prime example of what I’ve been trying to get through to you. In this response, you just HAD to include “We are fallen creatures in an imperfect world.” To you, I’m sure it seems trivial. But to a non-believer, it’s another religious slap. Could you not have simply said “we all make mistakes” and left it at that?

    Comment by Katy | March 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

