Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Using our genitals to sell meat product.

Textual Fury, Feminist 101, maybe Lottie?, and a couple other blogs I read have all mentioned Womanist Musings

Feminism sort of makes me uncomfortable.  I’m not going to rule out the possibility this is because I am part of the problem rather than part of the solution.  I take that possibility seriously, and when I read self-described feminist material I do so with an open mind.   I think that movement which aims to have all human beings treated as such is worth one, and even if I don’t always agree with the conclusions, I think a democratic society needs the voice of feminism.  That said, sometimes the the things that upset feminist are frankly confusing to me.  Consider this: a post providing a juxtaposition of two food commercials with both blatantly and sexualize men and women.  One is for fish sticks, the other for pork sausage.   The fish stick commercial is about salmon.  Salmon is pink, which (in case you live in an Amish community) is a slang term for the intervulvalar region.  The other one very obviously using the phallic nature of sausage.  So both ads are selling food by talking about genitals.

Renee, the author of Womanist Musings, points out something I wouldn’t have thought of on my own.  The fish stick is passive and objectified.  The only way the female is show to have any power is by allowing herself to be viewed.  The male, on the other hand is shown as active, powerful.  The sausage is doing things, going places, improving things.

That’s a good insight, and think accurately describes the ad, as well as the cultural undercurrents which allow such a presentation to get our attention in the first place.  However, I think the fact that the giant, greasy dick-of-a-sausage getting flippin’ eviscerated at 0:18 partially contradicts the “Ah yes, the penis is so great, look at all the stuff it can do.”

The first commercial shows women being objectified by showing off her “pink”.   The second shows what the ad carefully construes as a penis being emasculated.  Isn’t coercive emasculation at least at bad as the exploitation of stripping?  Can’t we say that both are equally destructive to the human experience and both are exploitative?

I don’t want to be “that guy”.  The guy that always finds some bizzare, left-field example to counterpoint every feminist argument, so that he can stay comfortable with his vindictive, entitled way of seeing the world.  I agree with her overall viewpoint on this.  I just think that a dick getting sliced and diced is not really the best example of phallic worship, no matter how awesome the narrator hypes it up to be first.

April 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Interesting insight, Truthwalker. I agree with your assessment here. A few other thoughts come to mind, but I’m about to walk out the door. I’ll be back a little later when my thoughts are more fully formed. That might help keep me out of trouble. At least I can hope! 😆

    Comment by Lottie | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. There is no doubt that we live in a sexist society, but I do think that sometimes people read too much into things. When that happens, it can undermine the very cause they are fighting for by diminishing its credibility.

    I’m suddenly reminded of when certain religious groups became fixated on the Teletubbies, insisting that Tinky Winky was gay. Some of the same people boycotted SpongeBob Sqarepants because they perceived the animated sponge and his animated starfish friend as being a gay couple.

    I think it’s possible to become so deeply involved in one particular cause, that you begin to see enemies where they don’t exist. I think this tends to alienate potential allies by giving the impression that those involved in said causes are unreasonable and shouldn’t be taken seriously.

    In short, sometimes a cigar fish stick is just a cigar fish stick. 🙂

    Comment by Lottie | April 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. yummy.
    Thanks for this link and your blog. I just added it to our
    America’s Sexuality Day Facebook fan page
    http://tinyurl.com/lpugnf

    Comment by crystal haidl | June 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

