Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

The Truth about me.

So, a quick explanation of why I haven’t written much.  I realized the key to happiness.  I tried to fight the realization.   I tried to find holes in it.  I tried to disprove it.  But the more I thought about it the more I knew it was right.

Happiness is feeling powerful.

We are happiest when feeling powerful, and most miserable when feeling powerless.

We have shallow friendships because having people around that we feel better than makes us feel powerful.  Shallow friendships (which will be the balance of most of the people we are friends with in this life) are like knick-knacks.  They give something to do while you putter around, and make the place more interesting.

We have meaningful friendships because those are the few people who by their commitment to us enhance our power.

People form into groups to get access to power.

Religion is all about power.  The question every religion answers is what must I do to have access to divine power?

Religious groups complain about the state of society because they look back to a time when they had more power, and feel the lose keenly.

I have very little power over the world.

I thought before I wanted to change the world.  I can’t.   It doesn’t mater what I think about abortion or murder or government.  I don’t have the power to write policy so my beliefs about these things change nothing on the whole.

I’m not rich, I’m not famous, I’m not powerful.  Thus no one cares what I think, particularly if I disagree with rich, famous people in positions of power.

The only things I have power over are not system wide, they effect mostly just me.  I have some control over my attitudes, and much control over my actions.  That’s it.  There is no point in knowing a ton of stuff that I can’t do anything with.

May 23, 2009 - Posted by | atheism, Christianity, Government, Politics, Religion, Self discovery, skepticism, Slice of life, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Hi there truthwalker,
    Interesting thoughts. And I find that I mostly agree. But I would disagree with your assessment of your own power. You have a wife, a daughter, parents, friends. What you do and who you are in their lives is VERY powerful, shaping their future. What you say to the downcast person at the store, who you smile at on the street, how you treat the saleslady who can’t seem to make the right change for your $20. I forget who said this, but it goes something like this: to affect the life of one single person is to touch the entire world. Wealth and fame don’t even compare.

    Comment by annaldavis | May 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Disagree is a strong word. But I do think you’re selling short your influence over the world.

    Comment by annaldavis | May 23, 2009 | Reply

    • Well thank you. I can make a huge difference in my wife and daughters life, and I can make small daily difference in the life of people I deal with everyday like my coworkers. And I know from waiting tables that a good solid compliment can keep you energized for a full 8 hour shift.

      I hope I didn’t say that wealth and power are all that maters, that wasn’t my point at all.

      But what I meant was, I can’t change the system. I have great ideas, ideas I have put years of thought, time, research, and work into. Ideas about government, systems organization, justice, renewable energy, vehicle engineering, etc. And no one who has the power to change any of those things gives a damn about what I think, so my beliefs on those things are meaningless.

      There’s no point in dreaming about changing those big, system wide things, because I don’t have access to the tools to change them, namely wealth and power. And because I would rather have the change than pay the cost to acquire the wealth and power that it takes to produce the change, I’m totally powerless on these things.

      Comment by truthwalker | May 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. “I hope I didn’t say that wealth and power are all that maters, that wasn’t my point at all.”

    No you didn’t say that, so no worries.

    “But what I meant was, I can’t change the system.”
    This is an age-old issue and unless you want to go into politics then I suppose you are right. I tend to think in simpler terms, and hope that the little bit of power I have (with family, people I encounter, my blog, etc) may make a difference someday. Naive probably. But it keeps me going.

    You’re a good writer, with good ideas. Written ideas have lots of power.

    Comment by annaldavis | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Well thank you, maybe I will be credited at the beginning of some famous book and and everyone will be like “Whaaaa….?”

    Comment by truthwalker | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  5. I disagree, but only slightly; I feel happiest when being useful. I like being in charge of my own life, of course, but I always feel the best when I am making something. Creating makes me happy. Helping and being useful makes me giddy. Is that like power?

    Comment by amarisgrey | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. I don’t know. I know a drive for usefulness sounds a lot better then a lust for power.

    Comment by truthwalker | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  7. Indeedy.

    Comment by amarisgrey | September 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

