Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

A bit more truth

In my last post, Truth about Truthwalker, I talked about how my opinion doesn’t mater, and how I I’m not likely to change the world, so I’m not going to work my butt off on a project that has very unlikely pay off, its a poor investment.

What I am NOT going to quick doing, for the most posts, is blogs like the one I did on nuclear power, where I spent several weeks educating myself on it before I formed my thoughts about it.  I’m not going to make statements that can be argued with, for the most part, because it doesn’t matter.  No one who wants to disagree with me will choose to understand what I am saying, and no one who agrees with care why, as long as I agree.

I’m going to blog my opinion and not facts.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, everyone is NOT entitled to their own facts.  That way I can still get ideas out, I can still write, and I can still share, but I don’t have to take hours of time away from my family doing research no one is going to read anyway.

Often this will make posts a lot shorter, and probably more frequent,  as I just sort of machine gun out all the weird ideas I have throught out the day.

May 25, 2009 - Posted by | Self discovery, skepticism, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. First, welcome back. It’s good to see you blogging again.

    I understand your basic point in this post, but I don’t think this is a fair statement:

    No one who wants to disagree with me will choose to understand what I am saying, and no one who agrees with care why, as long as I agree.

    I often disagree with people, yet understand what they are saying. When people agree with me, I do care about why. I’ve found the same to be true of others as well. Perhaps this is a minority; I have also run into people who behave exactly as you described.

    It’s kind of funny, though, that you made that statement immediately following, “I’m not going to make statements that can be argued with […]”, and then I argued with it. 😆

    Also, I think that part of the value of debate and/or writing about controversial topics, is that it helps strengthen our own critical thinking. For me, it’s less about whether other people agree, disagree or understand, and more about evaluating and strengthening my own thought processes, examining my reasoning, and checking myself in general. I have learned a lot even from debating people who are determined not to understand or agree with me.

    I do understand your point about taking time away from your family to research things and I have two responses to that: 1.) Even if no one else reads it, you have and that is beneficial, in and of itself. 2.) All things in moderation. 😉

    That’s just my two cents. I’m not actually trying to change your mind, just offering another perspective. I’ll follow your blog regardless of what you write about. 😀

    Welcome back to the blogoshpere!

    Comment by Lottie | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. My usual habit of spewing profoundly general things as if they were specific facts.

    “No one who wants to disagree with me will choose to understand what I am saying, and no one who agrees with care why, as long as I agree.”

    I’m not talking about you. Just noting a trend in the way people function much more relationally than rationally. I agree, I enjoy some controversy to help my sharpen my brain, I just don’t seem to get it often enough.

    Thanks for the welcome back, I didn’t mean to be gone for nearly 2 months. But I am back, and full of….ideas.

    Comment by truthwalker | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. Blogs are about what you think. You do not have to be a pundit in order to blog about something (They usually get paid for that).

    Comment by linkdeath | October 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

