Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Atheism and Simplicity

Happiness is a funny thing.

It’s so transient.  Today was my last day on 60+ hour weeks.  My box of bike goods arrived, and my new duty time is 0630.  So I will be riding my bike to work again.  I will be seeing my family again.  I am getting rid of my little Panda. (I liked the Panda, it was a fine little car, but I’ve learned all I can from it.  I’d like to have small car that I can hot rod a bit, and if I fix up the Panda I’ll have the world’s fastests P.O.S.)  I’m getting a used Volvo V90.  I’m putting it on finance to work up my credit score, though I could afford to buy it in cash.

Everything is working out my way for the first time in awhile, and today I am happy.  I thought for a moment that I sort of missed being able to thank God.  But then the one sidedness of that relationship came back to me.

I think I would still be religious if it was OK to get angry at God.  I had a great day today, and I wouldn’t mind thanking God for it if when at some point in the future, when I have lousy, lousy day I could be pissy at God.  I mean if a good day is His fault, then a bad day is too right?  He’s either Lord of all or He’s not.

But no, bad days were always somehow my fault.  Even if I didn’t cause the ‘badness’, I was sinning by not blessing God in a bad situation.  I was sinning by doubting, sinning by having such a poor attitude, yadda, yadda, yadda.

Today I am happy.  Sometime, sooner than later, I won’t be.  Crap happens. While I am happy I will celebrate with my loved ones.  When I am sad, I will be sad with my loved ones.  No fault, no failure, no blame.  Life is so much simpler and more peaceful as a spiritual atheist than as a Christian.

June 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve read through some of your posts on atheism and they are very interesting. Recently Bart Ehrman stated that he deconverted because he could not answer the common atheist question,”how can a good God allow so much suffering”. I feel like that theme runs through your posts as well. What’s interesting is that questions reveal who we are and what we want. The question of “how can a good God allow so much suffering”reveals that the asker thinks God’s main purpose is to provide equality and comfort.

    Comment by voxanima | June 5, 2009 | Reply

    • When I was a restaurant shift manager if the cash registers’ amounts were correct I was complimented on my managerial ability. If the cash registers amounts were wrong, I was in trouble. I never used the registers, I just managed the people who did.

      So, would it be fair if I was only responsible for the good shifts? The bad shifts are caused by violations of the people I hired. To say otherwise is to say that managers main job is providing comfort and equality to his employees.

      A fast food shift manager is more accountable for his behavior than the God you imagine.
      I’m not trying to be mean by saying that. I’m just trying to show how to look at you’re own beliefs through someone else’s eyes.

      Comment by truthwalker | June 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

