Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Communion memmories. (Super Atheist part II of III)

It’s hard to explain to people who haven’t been there.  Fasting is hardship.  It’s not nearly so bad as starving, but it’s an experience that few westerns have had.  Shared hardship builds tight social bonds, and fasting is no exception.  We hadn’t eaten in three days.  The first day is easiest, you don’t even feel it till supper, really.  The second day is harder at breakfast, but easier in the afternoon.  The third day is pretty hard.  I’ve talked to people who’ve fasted for weeks, and they say the third day is the hardest, that your body is learning how to fast, metabolically.

Wednesday night we had all had supper together, and none of us had eaten since.   Eating together also forms bonds between people.  The early church broke bread and praised together in houses Acts 2:46 and so did we.  Everyone had brought something, a casserole, a dessert, finger food, prepared with shaky hands and growling stomachs.  Have you ever prepared food when you haven’t eaten in 70 hours?  The anticipation is almost crushing.

There was so much food it was overflowing the table, crock pots were circled around outlets like campers around a fire, and chairs were loaded down with platters and bowls.  We stood around the table, hand in hand.  It was strange how we looked at each other.  Our eyes were shinning like lovers as we looked into each other’s souls shamelessly.

We prayed in a babble of tongues for a time, each person worshiping God in an inscrutable language he blessed them with, and then stopped, looking at each other breathlessly.  We ate, at last.  We talked, we laughed, we loved.  We all loved each other.

Finally it’s time for communion.  Communion is a joy, but also serious business.  Many modern Christians have forgotten that God punishes those who take communion unworthily with death and damns them to hell (First Corinthians 11:27-37). This same passage also tells us that to take communion is to be in unity.  We knew that.  We had chosen this communion to be special.

This was our standing before the lord as one.  We took communion together that night not only because we loved Jesus, but because we loved one another.  That night, before we took the cup, we each affirmed that we loved each other, and that we bonded ourselves together, to care for one another as Christ cares for us.

The next post I write will tie this and Super Atheist together.  Thanks for reading all, and thanks for the comments, both for and against my position.

June 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I have fasted before; I didn’t know you had. Well, I should say, I’ve had two types of fasting: Spiritual Fasting and Unwilling Fasting. Unwilling fasting is after surgery, when my lips are virtually sewn shut, and I can’t ingest anything that doesn’t fit through a straw.

    Spiritual fasting, however, is something I’ve done, too. Even as an Atheist, I do believe that people have spirits. Energy, soul, prana, whatever you want to call it, it exists without a doubt. Fasting is meant to purify the soul by purifying the body. There are different levels of fasting, of course. No food fasts, which can last weeks. You can supplement nutrition with juice and tea, of course. Water fasts, where you only drink water and ingest nothing else. That can last up to four or five days, if you’re careful. And the last, more dangerous, waterless fast, were you ingest nothing at all. It’s insisted upon that you do not exceed more that 36 hours.

    I have done all but the waterless one. I’m not that crazy. For me, though, it’s not a matter of purification, but more of discipline. I am very aware that my medical concerns will never leave me. I will always need to go to the hospital and visit various doctors for various reasons. I’ll always need surgery to survive. That will never end, and it’s just something with which I’ve had to come to terms. I am aware that at these times, I will likely be in a lot of pain and that I will need to be without food or water for a certain period of time. Depending on the surgery, I could go without food anywhere from a few hours to weeks. And it is damaging. The last surgery I had, almost six years ago, I was without solid food for several weeks. I lost twelve pounds. And I certainly felt it, let me tell you. I was very weak.

    I realize this is only loosely based on the post above, but I haven’t slept in 26 hours and I just spent 14 of those hours creating a new Renaissance Faire/ Roleplay forum, so I’m a little loopy.

    ….I’ve lost my train of thought….

    Miss you like frickin’ crazy!!

    Comment by amarisgrey | September 21, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah, I still fast from time to time. I still believe in a spirit, I just don’t think it’s an immortal part me that goes on to life after this one, but I do think that mine is unique and special. It’s what makes me, me. It’s my operating system. Fasting is one of the ways I defrag the ol’ hard drive.

      Comment by truthwalker | September 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

