Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Boobies and Feminism.

Several months ago, I was reading an ongoing message-board about feminism.  A lot of the guys were saying things that I found reasonable, and a lot of the women were pretty distraught with the guys’ statements.  One women, a self proclaimed feminist, made a point that went something like this…

“You have no idea what you are taking about.  You aren’t even entitled to an opinion because you don’t even have the facts to form one.  You are reacting to what you think feminism is, instead of what it is.  Take a single semester class in women’s studies.  Read a single book on feminism.  At the least, go to feminism101.  Just please, don’t ask a feminist to take the time to argue with your strident ignorance of the most basic principals of feminism.  Know what the hell you are talking about, and we will go from there.”

I was offended, and yet…Did I really know anything about feminism besides what I had heard from Rush Limbaugh and my pastors?  I had no real facts, instead I had my feelings, about second and third hand “facts”.  So, I sat down and read through the Wikipedia article on feminism, read through the feminism101 site, and took a cursory pursing of women’s studies.

The majority of expectations feminism holds for society and the individual strike me as both reasonable and moral, so I make an effort to meet these expectations.  Most of them are very simple, like “Women should have the same value as men.” or “Rape is caused by the addition of a rapist.”  Some are more complicated, like “Don’t view women objectively”, the subtleties of of which are little difficult at first. Observe the following images…

nude1142

In this image, the woman’s breasts are the center, the focal point.  The eye naturally goes to the central portion of an image.  In fact, if you draw an imaginary line from the top left corner to the lower right, and another from the upper right to the lower left, you will see the lines cross almost perfectly in her cleavage.

Now, compare that to this image.  Again, the cleavage is perfectly centered in the “cross” of the image.  The total focal point of the image is the breast. It’s superficially similar to the first, except something uniquely subtle and horrifying has happened in this image.  It’s not a woman anymore! The first image is a naked woman, and breasts are the focal point.  The second is just a picture of breasts, completely divorced from the human being that is them and the sum of all her other parts and thoughts.  There is no mouth to speak, no eyes to communicate subtle emotional state, no hands to suggest ability, and little body to express body language, age, or strength.  The breasts are completely dehumanized, an independent object with no humanity.

I agree with feminist ideology that objectification harms the objectified and the objectifier.  That said, I love me some boobies.  Often, I make eye contact with women not because I want to, but because my desire to stare at their breasts reminds me to.  I find breasts captivating.

There is no real reason to be captivated by them.  I haven’t been in middle school for a long time.  Seeing something I enjoy no longer produces any fantasies about it.   Nor am I in high school anymore, I have no urgency to see women I don’t know, in any state of partial undress.  If the opportunity provides itself to glance, I take it, but I’m not out looking for it.

In fact, it’s mildly frustrating.  I wish I could turn it off sometimes.  Today we were at the grocery store and a woman was going up the same isles we were, but from the opposite directions.   Her breasts were just really interesting.  I successfully didn’t ogle, stare, ect., but the amount of effort it took not to was irritating. It wasn’t a sexual thing, but a bouncing bosom is simply more fun to observe then rows and rows of nearly identical consumer food products.   Why? I dunno.   Some people say evolution.  Some people say sin.  All I know is that for two swinging sacks of mostly adipose tissue, they sure get my attention.

Ultimately, that relates to my greatest disappointment with feminism (and several other ideologies, for that matter).   For most males, the female breast, in almost any context, is more fascinating than any other viewable item in that context.  When feminism seeks to teach society acceptable and unacceptable ways to act upon that fascination, everyone wins.  When it seeks to pathologize that fascination, everyone loses.

My apologizes to the vast majority of feminists who respect the makeup of both sexes and merely seek to see women valued equally to men, you folks are not whom I am referring to.  Thanks for reading, all.

July 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. After ten years of marriage to a “boob man” even I can’t help but check them out everywhere I go. I’m sure I’m not the only woman who does it, but am not sure how many would admit to it. I’ve also thought about going back to school to get a degree in Women’s Studies…so not sure where that puts me on the feminist scale.

    Comment by lesleehorner | July 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. I wish I could think of the sort of comment to that which would be really insightful and make people think, “Wow, thats a really novel angle on that.” But I can’t 🙂

    I’ve always found the expression “breast man” to be sort of funny, because the logical opposite, “pectoral woman” has such a radically different implied meaning.

    Comment by truthwalker | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Boobs are pretty awesome, aren’t they? Speaking as a straight, well-developed woman of above-average intellegence and well-defined mental processing abilities, I love me some boobies too.

    Comment by amarisgrey | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hehe.

    Comment by truthwalker | September 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

