Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Attention Deficit Disorder

I’ve been told I have ADD, but I never jumped through all the hoops of real diagnosis, treatment, etc. That said, I don’t know how you normal people do it.  I don’t know how you do the same job for decades at a time.  I got up at six today like I have for about 3 months now.  I get in the same car, go to the same job, and do the same thing.

I am not depressed. Just bored. I am taking full time classes right now.  That’s boring too.  Takes about week to get into the swing of things, then I know the teachers expectations and I bored. I’m thinking about starting my own business, which means I will have to show up at the building for years.  I guess I must.  I do like supporting my family, and that’s hard to do when you change jobs every few months.

But I don’t know how you normal people do it.  I don’t know how you get out of bed in the morning to go do the same thing you did yesterday.  Or how you decide a career, or plan for retirement. (50 years of the same thing? Really?) Sigh.  I’d write more, but I need to put on the same uniform I’ve been wearing for three years, get in the same car I’ve driving for ten months, to drive to the same site I’ve been working at for 4 months.

July 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Is it ADD or your instinct/intuition telling you to keep looking b/c you just haven’t found the RIGHT thing yet! I think the right thing’s out there if you just refuse to settle for the wrong thing….

    Comment by lesleehorner | July 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. I think the right thing for me is finding a wealthy patron to fund me wandering around the world and writing blog entries about it. 🙂

    How come you don’t post your website so I can click on your name when you comment and see what you are doing on your site?

    Comment by truthwalker | July 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. I can’t figure out why I’m not clickable… That’s one of the reasons I bought “WordPress for Dummies” but still haven’t got around to reading it. It’s….

    http://lesleehorner.wordpress.com

    Comment by lesleehorner | July 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. Also, since my girls are so well-behaved and easy to take care of, my husband is basically funding me to analyze my life and blog about it. 🙂

    Comment by lesleehorner | July 23, 2009 | Reply

  5. My husband also has never been diagnosed but I am sure also has ADD. Do you know how many times we’ve moved in less then 7 years of marriage? 9 times. Do you know how many jobs he’s had in that time? I’ve lost count. That’s life with a hubby who has ADD. He can’t stand the daily in and out of 9-5. I have no idea where we’ll end up–if we ever “end up” anywhere.

    Comment by CC | July 24, 2009 | Reply

  6. I read this in a book today and thought of you.

    “Hold each job long enough to get from it every speck of information there is in it. Hold it long enough to learn the job ahead. Then if there seems no likelihood of a vacancy soon in that job ahead, find one that corresponds to it somewhere else.
    Progress! Keep going ahead! Don’t be satisfied merely because your salary is being boosted occasionally. Learn something everyday. When you reach the point in your work that you are no longer adding to your store of knowledge or abilities, you are going backward, and it’s time for you to move. Move upward in the organization you are with if you can-but MOVE!” (From The Secret of the Ages by Robert Collier)

    Comment by lesleehorner | July 31, 2009 | Reply

  7. I have been diagnosed with that but I am not always afflicted with the boredom as much as I can’t concentrate on more than one task at a time. I think I am also a little OCD so combined with my ADD I take one task to the inth degree and not see any other task that needs done. That must a be a frustration but do you ever feel pride in accomplishing things or do you get bored before the tasks are done and keep moving to other things. You have stated you like to invent things in the past. I would test yourself and see if you can ever take one of your inventions to fruition or see if you get bored. Start with simple ones and go from there. At the very least it will keep your mind off the minutia in life as it is just an ends to a means so to speak. Work means I get to do what I really want to do kind of thing.

    Comment by Anna Alvarez | August 3, 2009 | Reply

  8. Thank you Leslee and Anna. I sat on the reply for awhile trying to think of brilliance, but…nothing.

    And yes Anna I am actually working on prototyping one of my ideas, but I can’t do it myself, and communicating with the machine shop through my dad is very frustrating.

    Comment by truthwalker | August 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

