Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Feeding babies = unwed mothers.

Controversial Doll Lets Little Girls Pretend to Breast-Feed

It’s come to this.  This is a doll that simulates breast feeding.  And people are appalled, not because electronic dolls are creepy, but because they think playing feed the baby (without a bottle) would lead little girls to have sex earlier.  Um…uh…Yeah.

Hey stupid people: heads up, I hate you all.

P.S. Yes the doll is incredibly, horribly creepy, but not because breast feeding is creepy. You pervs.

August 6, 2009 - Posted by | Christianity, feminism, Politics, Religion, skepticism, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Don’t even get me started on breastfeeding stuff. I nursed my oldest until she was almost 3 and caught so much hell from my family. I’m pretty sure if either of my girls turn out to be lesbians someone will blame it on our extended nursing. I haven’t read anything about this doll and from your post I don’t think I want to. It will just make me fume!

    Comment by lesleehorner | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sad how our society has such trouble with a basic function of the female body, to feed her young. Not sure I would want my daughter to own that doll, in the same way I don’t watch childbirth shows on TLC with her. Not because its wrong or dirty, but because that knowledge will come soon enough.

    Comment by annaldavis | August 17, 2009 | Reply

    • I think the demand that the breast be totally sexual is very strange. I mean, I’m the first guy to say that I think a nice pair of breasts are fantastic. They catch my attention the way light catches a moth’s. But say “because I desire it, it serves no other purpose.” is so selfish and short sighted. No, I wouldn’t get the doll either, but no for the reasons they say.

      Comment by truthwalker | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. On the flipside, the fact that baby dolls have come with bottle for decades says a lot about the way that the culture sees breastfeeding. When formula was first put on the market, it was the latest greatest for the modern mom. If you were still in the dark ages and nursed, you weren’t giving your child the best. Obviously, the research has been done since then and there’s a big push now that “Breast is Best” (duh!), but you still have to fight it at every turn. So in one sense, kudos to the manufacturers for coming up with an idea… as creepy as it might be. Yet, there’s no way a five year old girl could possibly nurse a child, while she can feed the baby a bottle- so is this really necessary?

    I still say the way to promote nursing is to just do it. Don’t sit on a potty. Get a Hooter Hider, show discretion, and feed your baby!

    Comment by Sarah T | September 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah, I find this product to be incredibly creepy. I just find the response of these people to be more so.

      Comment by truthwalker | September 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

