Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Health-Care and Socialized Medicine (Health-Care IIX)

I am a member of the US military. It’s not something I talk about on my blog a lot because there is not a lot I can say about it.  I can’t say anything that would reflect poorly upon my branch, the Air Force, and it is important that in any political or religious thing I say that I make very clear what I am saying is my opinion alone, and does not in anyway constitute an Air Force or DoD agreement or disagreement with my point of view.  Further, I cannot reveal any information that about what I am doing at work that you wouldn’t get from the base website, because I could inadvertently reveal sensitive information.  (My job isn’t that cool; I put gas on planes, but that’s the policy.)

The above paragraph is over 100 words.  It’s a pain in the rear to throw that boilerplate on any blog I do that mentions work, but this subject is important to me so I believe it is worth the hassle today.  So is it clear to everyone this is my view and in no way reflects the views of the Air Force? Good. I want (surprise!) to talk about health-care.  You see, when I get sick….

I go to a medical clinic which belongs to the government, whose every operational bill is paid by the government, and I see a doctor or nurse in a government uniform, whose every paycheck is signed by the government.  He or she writes me a prescription which I take to the government owned pharmacy, and the pharmacist, wearing a government uniform, who is paid by the government takes the pills the government paid for, and gives them to me.  And I never, ever, see a bill.

Now, there is a name for the sort of medicine where the government owns the hospital and everything in it, pays all the employees, pays for all the drugs, and never charges the patients anything, regardless of income.  It’s called SOCIALIZED MEDICINE.  So, if socialized medicine is so bad, why does the military have it?

The number one answer I get is that we in the military deserve our benefits. (Implying, I guess, that the unwashed, unpatriotic masses at home don’t, but that’s not my point.)  My somewhat biased opinion is that the US military deserves the best health-care available. And the statistics say we have it…and oddly enough that we are very happy with it, and don’t want to have to pay our own way, or have to find which of hundreds of competing hospitals has the most affordable rates, or read hundreds of pages of insurance documents.   The service members I know, don’t want more competition, or a system in which the service members who make the most, get the best care.

How un-American of us.

October 9, 2009 - Posted by | Government, Pharmacology, Politics | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Very interesting point here! So are you for the public option then?

    Comment by lesleehorner | October 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. You know, I started to reply to this and it is just better to reply with a whole new blog… so I shall.

    Comment by truthwalker | October 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

