Ronin of the Spirit

Because reality is beautiful.

Miley Cyrus, Whores, and personal responsibility

My last blog, I said this blog would be where what I believe has taken me.  Well, that’s a big story and I am still writing it.  So let me pause for a moment to say something else.  Three months ago I wrote a post on Miley Cyrus.  I still get comments from time to time telling me she was was a good girl, but now is a bad girl.

Now, let me ignore the larger trend of morality being defined by massive business conglomerates as sexlessness and go straight to the other issue here.  I want to say to all the men who thinks that a nice girl becomes a bad girl when she puts on more revealing clothes and dances…

A woman is not bad because you want to do bad things to her. You are.

By bad things I don’t mean sex. Its normal and healthy for a straight man to desire sex with women.  By bad things, I mean exploitive things, thoughts more like “I want to have sex with her outside of any context of mutual respect.”  Or worse still “She made me feel a certain way, and now she owes me sex.”  Or maybe worst of all “I can do with her whatever I want, because she wants it anyway.”  Now that I have clarified what “bad things” are let me say again…

A woman is not bad because you want to do bad things to her. You are.

Fellow men, have I made this clear enough? If you look at a woman and want to degrade her or hurt her through sex the person with the problem is you, not her.   Calling names doesn’t change this.  You can call a woman a slut, or a whore, or a ho if you like, but it won’t change the fact that…

A woman is not bad because you want to do bad things to her. You are.

I wish I had never done that blog on Miley Cyrus.  I wish I didn’t have men writing me every couple days and saying “Miley Cyrus made me horny for a 16 year old and now she’s a filthy little slut.” because it’s sick and sad and depressing.  I say one last time to the men of the blogoshere…

A woman is not bad because you want to do bad things to her. You are.

Maybe if I say it enough, somebody will get it.

November 29, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

